So you’ve decided to give me a call!
I don’t mind these little intrusions by the past, but there’s really not much I can do, darling,
and when I hear about your troubles, oh, they set me free.
I remember a time when just seeing your name on the phone was like siren lights in the rear view,
Stop whatever I’m doing, pull over, try to explain my way out of this one
You never let me off with a warning.
Now you’re telling me your heart is broken,
Well, I’m no doctor, but I’ve dabbled in the field a bit and here’s what I’d prescribe:
By yourself you’re a palace, all twinkly gemstoned walls and cool fountains in the courtyard,
You’re a statue, weathering the elements with a stone jaw and a torch held high,
You’re a mockingbird, dancing from twig to twig and laughing at your enemies,
But you never wanted to be any of those things.
Because a palace gets lonely with nobody inside, a statue can’t move its lips to speak, and a mockingbird has no nest of its own.
Well, all right, then, you’re going to have to nail down another (you were always on a cross but nobody was alone at Golgotha)
And I kill myself too much on a daily basis to make it worth the timber.
So you’re off to the prisons with your hammer in hand and the first one with a good flat palm is yours for the taking
And you never stopped to think
Two people is twice the weight
And all your strength is in your legs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Death, The Life Story

Tracing a life through stories of death. Sometimes funny, sometimes not.

sevenstarhalo

"Sometimes I can hear my bones straining under the weight of all the lives I'm not living."- Jonathan Safran Foer. || student, loves travelling and perhaps baking a cake.||

Seal Matches

Stories & News

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Mugilan Raju

Prime my subconscious, one hint at a time

The Flyleaf Wordsmith

The door leading to blaring madness.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

