Further Notes Over Coffee

unzip my spine
make me pay attention
to the delicate brief dances of shadow
soft as cotton and sharp as life
masterwork of dull clouds
spinning sunlight as an afterthought
through lattices of black iron

held hostage to myself and my habits, i crack and lie and battle against this soft false true version of me, rolling out half-lidded and blunt-minded to stumble through a day stretched across a week stretched across a month stretched across a year across a year across a year it goes on

brief flashes and long evenings of clarity punctuate a drifting haze, dancing sparks in smoke rising from ebbing embers of a fire-eaten stick tumbling deafeningly into ash that was a tree

does the soot remember the light on its leaves? creating energy and not being burned by it

This pen, the way it scratches ink onto the page, sometimes in great dark wasteful pools obscuring the definition of an O, elsewhere in the dry desperate drag of an S, imperfect transfer of the random trembles in the tiny, memorized convulsions of my hand on this elegant tool–its sputtering flow amuses me, leaves streaks and stains where these pages press together, these records non committed to secrecy for the sake of

ha look at the way my thumb has already smeared the thoughts

i wonder what a woman so close to my left has dancing and crashing and careening off the corners and bumpers of her skull

unraveling from a hunch i straighten and stretch

unzip my spine

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Death, The Life Story

Tracing a life through stories of death. Sometimes funny, sometimes not.

sevenstarhalo

"Sometimes I can hear my bones straining under the weight of all the lives I'm not living."- Jonathan Safran Foer. || student, loves travelling and perhaps baking a cake.||

Seal Matches

Stories & News

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Mugilan Raju

Prime my subconscious, one hint at a time

The Flyleaf Wordsmith

The door leading to blaring madness.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

