Shakin’

Shake me ’til I freeze my bones
I am warm here, shakin’ on my own
Warmly I watch th’ ripples pass
The lull of the water is a magnifyin’ glass

Out of that stillness I’m a dying leaf
There’s no more life in a tree
Than what’s underneath

Here I’m shakin’, it’s divine
Won’t you come to my basement for a bottle o’ wine
Down in th’ dark we’re cozy and warm
Looking over the rooftops for a rollin’ grumblestorm

One of us has got to fly out there
Shake off those wings so I can watch you
Shake in the air

Back on the ground I will fly soft n’ low
Growin’ my patience; growing cold
Put your foot in my hand and we’ll look out o’er the lake
Stretch out your fingers and feel th’ muscles ache

Listen to the lapping it’s got to make your heart break
When all I can do is stand on a stump and shake

The roots share a secret with the damn ol’ docks
See ’em if you can see ’em from the back of a rock
Down in th’ dirt they were connected by time
Thinkin’ of leaves that they lost, climbin’ into the sky

I’ll come and find you and we can keep all our leaves
Between you and me we’ve got two up on the trees

Shake me in your arms and tell me there’s no mistake
Out in the storm or on th’ frozen lake
Here in th’ hold I can make my escape
Outta my bones and into yours I shake

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Death, The Life Story

Tracing a life through stories of death. Sometimes funny, sometimes not.

sevenstarhalo

"Sometimes I can hear my bones straining under the weight of all the lives I'm not living."- Jonathan Safran Foer. || student, loves travelling and perhaps baking a cake.||

Seal Matches

Current Affairs and Aesthetics.

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Mugilan Raju

Prime my subconscious, one hint at a time

The Flyleaf Wordsmith

The door leading to blaring madness.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

